Driver’s License Restoration

The experienced attorneys at Harvatin Law Offices focus solely on Illinois driver’s license issues. We are dedicated to helping you restore your driver’s license and get back on the road. Our firm provides the highest quality representation to local and out-of-state clients facing suspension or revocation of their driving privileges.

Losing Your Driver’s License

Motorists depend on their cars in Springfield and across Illinois. But keeping a driver’s license is a privilege, not a right. The loss of driving privileges means that your license was suspended or revoked. While driving in Illinois, state traffic laws apply, even if the address listed on your license is out of state. Most drivers lose their license after being convicted of DUI, DWI, drunk driving, or reckless driving offenses. The different types of suspension and revocation are outlined below:

  • Suspension

    • Loss of driving privileges for up to 36 months
  • Statutory Summary Suspension
    • Automatic suspension resulting from a DUI arrest
    • Blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or more,
    • Any trace of impairing drugs, or
    • Refusal to test for alcohol or drugs
  • Revocation
    • Loss of driving privileges for an indefinite period
    • Driver must meet certain requirements to restore license
  • Statutory Summary Revocation
    • After motor vehicle accident involving injury or death,
    • Arrest for DUI and refusal of chemical testing
    • No driving relief available for 12 months

Restoring Your Driving Privileges

You can drive again by obtaining either a restricted driving permit (RDP) or reinstatement of your license. Depending on the type of suspension or revocation, some drivers may not be eligible for immediate reinstatement. In these cases, the driver must prove eligibility for an RDP by showing “undue hardship” for any of the following reasons:

  • Employment, educational, medical needs
  • Caring for a child, elder, or disabled person
  • To reach a support group or perform court-ordered community service
  • Transporting a child for school and/or daycare

DUI offenders must complete an alcohol/drug evaluation that will classify them based on risk: “Minimal” risk drivers must complete an alcohol/drug education program; “moderate” and “significant” to “high” risk drivers must provide proof of completion, a continuing care status report, and other proof of progress. After fulfilling these requirements, applicants must attend a hearing and meet the following criteria to obtain relief:

  • Reinstatement

    • Prove financial responsibility
    • Pay reinstatement fee
    • Complete Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) requirements
  • Grant of RDP
    • Prove financial responsibility within 60 days
    • Pay $8 issuance fee
    • Submit evidence of “undue hardship” if not eligible for reinstatement
    • Take driver’s examination if required
    • Pay $360 BAIID RDP fee if required

The Best Way to Get Your License Back

These cases demand the finesse of a local attorney who is knowledgeable in this area of law. Like driving, you need someone to get you from A to B; an experienced advocate who knows the directions is worth more than a flashy name. This does not mean you can “go it alone” or intimidate officers by hiring “big guns;” both tactics will deplete your resources and complicate your case. Instead, consult the experienced driver’s license restoration attorneys at Harvatin Law Offices. After 15 years of evaluating cases as a hearing officer, Mr. Harvatin has an insider’s knowledge of the process and can best prepare you for the hearing. Our firm has a stellar success record and provides dedicated representation to both out-of-state residents and drivers in Illinois. Call (800) 829-8513 today for a confidential consultation, or contact us online.

pixel image